Insatiable Girl

NEW YORK: Baohaus

Posted in food, new york, restaurants by sue on January 30, 2010

137 Rivington St., New York, NY 10002
646 684 3835

PRICE: Pricey for what you get & it’s cash only.
RATING: Good, but not worth the $$.
DIRECTIONS: JMZ to Essex
RESERVATIONS: You don’t need them
MUST GET:


I really wanted to like this place, but for $8 for 2 tiny gua baos… I don’t think I’ll ever come back here. The food itself is fine. Joe and I came here after we had already eaten, but after seeing that it sold Taiwanese food, we both figured we had to stop in and give it a try.

The menu is small, but for a small start up joint, it works. They have three kinds of baos– skirt steak, pork belly, tofu– and sweet potato fries. Joe and I ordered the pork belly. When our order came out, we were both really disappointed by the size.  Granted we had already eaten, but we could have bought an amazing vietnamese sandwich (at triple the size) for the same price!

If it were 2 for $5, maybe I’d go back.  Or if I weren’t from LA and didn’t go home often where I had access to amazing Taiwanese food, maybe I’d go back.  But for all you Taiwanese New Yorkers or people in New York who have never tried Taiwanese food, I would say go give it a try at least once.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Athena Chang said, on February 10, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I miss the Bao so much in Taiwan! I have to try it out at least once but I hear you on the pirce though. Nothing in the US is comparable to the food and price in TW!

    • insatiablegirl said, on February 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

      You should check out the Taiwanese places in la. The food is just as good, but of course the prices just cannot compare to Taiwan’s.

  2. Athena Chang said, on February 18, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I wish I could but I am all the way in NYC! I heard LA has tons of good Taiwanese food… !

    • insatiablegirl said, on February 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      I know! It’s tough in new york to find good Taiwanese food. That’s why I was so excited when I found baohaus, but I don’t know if I’ll ever go back. People say flushing has good taiwanese food, but I have yet to find good places! So instead, I’ve been getting recipes from my mom and cooking some dishes myself.

      If I find any good places, I’ll post them up for you.


Leave a Reply

