Insatiable Girl

Homemade kimchi pork dumplings.

Posted in cooking, food by sue on May 31, 2010

I never cook following a recipe. I never measure. I add a random amount of what I’m supposed to, leave out the things I don’t like, and add tons of the stuff I love. I think this is how cooking should be. Made from the heart and not from a cup.

I made these kimchi pork dumplings because I missed being able to get them on my way to work in Taiwan. Man, were they delicious. I could easily devour ten in a matter of seconds right before I hurriedly ran up the stairs to teach.

For my own concoction, I got a pound of ground pork which I mixed with some water. I found that the pork I buy from fresh direct mixes the best. I stir the meat and water in one direction, usually counter clockwise for me. It doesn’t matter which direction you do it– counter clockwise or clockwise, it just has to be the same direction the whole way through to keep the water soaked in. I add enough water to make the pork a lumpy consistency rather than chunky, but mindful that the kimchi will add even more water to the mixture. After that, I mix in some soy sauce until the pork turns a light brown. Then comes a bit of black pepper and some salt. I add a ton of chopped green onions; one of my favorite things on this planet. Then I add chopped kimchi and the juice that comes with it. Stir in a bit of brown sugar and it’s ready to be folded.

Folding dumplings isn’t that hard. Just buy already made gyoza (Japanese for dumplings) skin from an Asian market, put a tiny amount of your mixture in the middle (you can gradually add more once you become more skilled at folding), add a dab of water along the edges, and then fold the skin to look like a semi-circle. Press tightly to make sure there are no gaps and you are finished.

Pictured above are boiled dumplings, but they taste even better fried (doesn’t everything?). Both methods are simple, but boiling is, of course, healthier. Just put a pot of water on your stove, when it begins to boil add as many dumplings as you want, when it boils again add a cup of cold water, and when it boils again turn off the heat and serve it with some dumpling sauce or a mix of soy sauce and vinegar. If you want to fry them, you need a pan that you can cover completely with a lid. Add some oil to the pan, wait until it gets a bit hot, add as many dumplings as you want (but make sure you space them out because they will expand), wait until 1/3 of a dumpling becomes translucent, add water to the pan (enough to cover 1/3 of a dumpling), cover the pan with a lid, wait 8 to 10 minutes, and it’s ready to eat! If there’s still water in the pan after the 8 to 10 minutes are up, just lift the cover and let the water evaporate.

Ta-da! We’re done!

Welcome to Asian cooking 101… Just kidding! Haha.

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carina said, on June 2, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Mmm. I am definitely going to try this!


Leave a Reply

