Insatiable Girl

Steamed Spareribs in Black Bean Sauce

Posted in cooking, food by sue on June 11, 2010

One of the best dishes my mom makes is also one of my favorite dishes when I get dim sum– steamed spareribs in black bean sauce. Everyone I know loves this dish, so I thought I would share this recipe. It’s surprisingly simple; you can easily make this at home if you follow my steps.

First, you have to buy the spareribs. I highly recommend going to Chinatown or 99 Ranch, if you’re lucky enough to have one near you, to buy them. The ones pictured here were bought from Fresh Direct and were a bit too big for my liking. Plus, when you buy them at a Chinese place, they’ll cut them up into pieces for you. I had to do that myself with the Fresh Direct ones. It’s not that big of a deal, but why add the extra hassle if you don’t need to, right? Other ingredients needed for this recipe are: dry black beans (which you can also buy in any Chinese supermarket), jalapenos, vinegar, salt, pepper, and cornstarch.

Anyway, now that your spareribs are cut into pieces (and hopefully thawed), add some salt and pepper and mix. Then add some cornstarch to the meat and mix some more.

Let the meat sit while you boil a big pot of water.  Once the water begins to boil, add the meat and then some vinegar.  I add a good hearty amount, probably 2-3 seconds of pouring.  Make sure you stir occasionally so that the meat doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot.  When it begins to boil again, pour the water out and rinse the meat in cold water.  You should lightly scrub the meat with your fingers, there might be some small chunks of blood.  (Gross I know, but that’s what happens!)

Then take the dry black beans (if you live near me, I can give you some as I have a LOT in my fridge!) and sliced jalapenos and mix them into the spareribs.  Be careful of the jalapenos if you can’t handle the spice!  As for the black beans, the more you add, the saltier it gets.  If they are pretty big pieces of spareribs like the ones pictured above, one black bean per sparerib would probably be good.  If they are small pieces like the ones you get at dim sum, maybe one black bean per every 3-4 pieces would be good.   I just kind of eyeball it as I do with most of my cooking.

Now, it’s ready to be steamed and eaten!  I steam the spareribs by putting a small plate on the bottom of a big pot, filling the pot with about an inch or so of water, putting the bowl filled with spareribs inside the pot on top of the plate, and then covering the pot.  (Let me know if that doesn’t make sense.) I start by putting the pot on high heat until it boils, then I move it to small to medium heat for 45-60 minutes.

Ta-da!  It’s ready to eat!

Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. allytseng said, on June 29, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    my mouth is watering!!

  2. joe said, on July 5, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    mine too. mmmm steamed spareribs with juicy jalapenos… mmmm


Leave a Reply

