Insatiable Girl

Homemade Chinese Borscht

Posted in cooking, food by sue on July 6, 2010

You are probably thinking what the heck is she talking about or man, that does not look appealing, right? Well, pictured above is one of my favorite soups, 蘿宋湯 (luo song tang) aka vegetable soup aka Chinese style borscht. My mom has made this for me ever since I could rememer. When I moved to Taiwan a few years ago, I decided to finally get the recipe from her. It’s surpisingly easy to make and extremely healthy, so I thought I would share.

You can pretty much use whatever vegetables you like– mushrooms, celery, beets, etc., but I like to keep it simple. For me, the only ingredients are: beef (I use ribeye steak), cabbage, yellow onion, baby carrots, potatoes, tomatoes, garlic, ginger, green onion, pepper, salt, vinegar, and water. As for the quantity of each ingredient, it’s pretty much up to your tastebuds. I put a lot of meat in mine as well as tomatoes (my favorite part!) while I use just one potato. Do what you want.

Now for the preparation… Dice the beef, onion, and cabbage into cubes and slice the ginger (you only need about 4 thin slices), carrots, and tomatoes (tomatoes slices should look like wedges). Peel the garlic; I usually use 3 to 4 cloves. And cut the green onion stalk into three pieces. Peel the potato, cut into cubes, and place in a bowl of cold water– this prevents it from crumbling in the soup.

Now we are ready to cook. Boil a pot of water, add the beef and splashes of vinegar. The vinegar gets rid of the meaty taste so it does not overpower the rest of the soup. When it comes to a boil again, drain the meat and rinse with cold water. Now get a big pot and add all the vegetables (except the potato) and the beef. Fill the pot with water so it barely covers all our ingredients. Bring it to a boil on high, then reduce the heat to medium high and add your drained potato cubes. Let it cook for 30 to 40 minutes and add salt and pepper to taste. Early warning, you need to add a good amount of salt. Ta-da! We are finished!

If you want it more flavorful, you can use chicken stock instead of just water. If you want it more colorful, add tomato purme. I don’t do any of that because I think it tastes great as is, plus it would ruin the healthy quality of this soup!

Anyway, there we go. Let me know if you attempt it.

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daisy said, on July 26, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    hi! your recipe was simple and tasty. thanks for the tip! – NYC


Leave a Reply

