Insatiable Girl

BROOKLYN: Dokebi

Posted in Uncategorized by sue on August 11, 2010

I was amazed to find a Korean spot in Brooklyn, let alone one in my hood. It’s hard enough to find a Korean restaurant in the city outside of Koreatown. Even more surpising, Dokebi is pretty damn good. Their bibibamp is really flavorful; I can imagine it’s even better in house in a stone bowl. I got the food to go because it’s been a long day at work and I just really wanted to go home and relax. They packed the gochujang on the side (a lot of it too!) along with their banchan. (Banchan is the side dishes you get at a Korean restaurant. They usually include kimchi, sauteed spinach, kaktugi, etc.) Every one of their banchan dishes were tasty, down to the potato salad and kaktugi, which I think is a huge hit or mess at most places.

Now that I’ve mentioned the good traditional food, let me tell you about their tacos. I haven’t had the Kogi trucks in LA yet, so I have nothing to compare it too, but the spicy pork tacos here are pretty damn good. I could easily eat three orders of them at least.

So now you know… the food here is great. It’s definitely going to be a go to spot for me, but what makes it even better is their amazing service. If you ever stop by, say hi to Millie at the bar. She’s probably one of the nicest bartenders I have ever met. She even gave me a list of her favorite restaurants in the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

