Insatiable Girl

NEW YORK: Tea and Sympathy

Posted in Uncategorized by sue on September 28, 2010

Whoever told me that British food sucks years ago lied. Either that or Tea and Sympathy is an exception to the rule.

Joe was craving meat pies, so we decided to stray from the usual at Tuck Shop and head over to T&S. Great decision. The place is cute, but small and usually packed. (I think it has about 20 seats.) Luckily we only had to wait ten minutes to get a table, but quite honestly, I think I would wait an hour if I had to. The food is just that good.

I loved the Sussex chicken (the sage and onion stuffing was delicious), but after a tiny bite of Joe’s chicken and leek pie, I was jealous. I had instant food envy. The creamed chicken and puff pastry were absolutely mouth watering. If my cornish hen didn’t take up half my plate, I probably would have ordered another chicken and leek pie on the side. I loved it so much; I even offered to take Joe back to T&S the next day because I was still craving that pie.

The next time I go back, I will definitely order one of those and make room for dessert. The couple next to me split a bread pudding which looked surprisingly good.

If you go check it out, make sure you get the drink below (it’s pronounced iron brew). It tastes like cream soda!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ronee said, on September 29, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Dear Writer,
    I am so attracted to the food you recommanded in this article, and feel like making a reservation if I go to New York. Thank you for the good work to introduce all these. I think I can smell food now. Have fun at work and have a nice day.
    xxxx
    Ronee from Taiwan


Leave a Reply

