Insatiable Girl

SANTA MONICA: Opaque

Posted in food, los angeles, restaurants by sue on November 21, 2010

There are no pictures for this place because I was dining in the dark. Yes, you read correctly, the dark. I couldn’t see anything– not my food, the utensils, my glass of water, etc. I’ve been wanting to try a place like this since one of my old roommates told me about it a few years ago, so thanks Rossana for taking me!

The whole idea of this restaurant is based on the theory that your other senses will be heightened because you lost your sense of sight. This might be true if I lost the sense permanently or if the food were much better because it was certainly not the case last night. For $100 per person, I expected great food, but instead it was just mediocre. The seared ahi tuna was still frozen in the center! Everything was rather bland minus the amuse bouche, a cherry tomato filled with goat cheese, and their mango panna cotta. I ate less than normal last night but I’m not sure if it was because of the food itself or because I couldn’t see what I was eating. I think I tend to keep eating even though I’m full because the food looks so good or because I don’t want to waste it.

It’s definitely a novel dining experience. I’m glad I went, but I would not want to do it again. It was just… strange. I picked up my fork to take a bite of my salad only to get a mouthful of air twice and Rossana stuck her hand in the butter twice! And I would rather spend the money at a crappy restaurant eating amazing food. (When I was eating my tuna, I couldn’t help but wish that I was at In N Out scarfing down a burger.)

If this entry has not dissuaded you from dining in the dark, Opaque has restaurants in San Francisco and San Diego as well. Camaje in New York offers a similar experience using blindfolds. Let me know what you think if you go!

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

