Insatiable Girl

Hacienda Heights: Four Seas

Posted in food, los angeles, restaurants by sue on January 8, 2011

2020 S Hacienda Blvd
Hacienda Heights, CA 91745
626 330 3088

Price: Cheap
Rating: Good/Great
Directions: Get off at Hacienda Blvd on the 60
Reservations: Unnecessary
Must Get: Radish Cake with Egg, Egg pancake

I love Taiwanese breakfast. I miss going downstairs from my apartment in Taichung, sitting and wasting an hour in the morning by eating breakfast and studying Chinese. Or going to Yonghe (an area in Taipei) with my dad who orders a billion dishes because he hasn’t had them in ages. Ah well, Four Seas is a decent substitute.

Their radish cake with egg (luobogao jia dan 蘿蔔糕加蛋) is my favorite thing to order here, up next would be their egg pancake (danbing 蛋餅) but unfortunately their egg pancake comes plain and not with the variety of toppings they do in Taiwan. The soy milk here is pretty good, but early warning it comes without sugar so you have to add your own. I’ve seen people send it back thinking they got the wrong order only to get the salty soy milk which really is not what they ordered! Their fried dough (youtiao 油條) is not good though. It’s extremely oil, probably the oiliest fried dough I have ever had which is saying a lot. It’s not crispy or flaky which is what I love about youtiao. However, I haven’t found a place in LA that does a good job with it, so I guess if you are desperate, this will do. (There used to be a really good one when I was in junior high/high school. Sigh.)

They have an extensive menu, so if those dishes are not your typical Taiwanese breakfast, just give Four Seas a shot, I’m sure they probably have it. There’s no English menu here though, so make sure you go with someone who can speak/read Chinese, preferably Mandarin. The only things listed in English are the already prepared food sitting in the front of the restaurant.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

