Insatiable Girl

SANTA MONICA: El Cholo

Posted in food, los angeles, restaurants by sue on January 10, 2011

www.elcholo.com
1025 Wilshire Blvd
Santa Monica, CA 90401
310 899 1106

Price: Expensive (unless you are a USC student)
Rating: Okay
Directions: Get off at Lincoln Blvd on the 10
Reservations: Accepted
Must Get: Fish Tacos

De-freaking-licious fish tacos, but at $15 for three tacos along with some rice and beans that I barely touch, it just seems kind of pricey to me. I need to go back to Wahoo’s and remind myself whether their fish tacos are any better or on the same level.

Myra and I also split their fiesta platter which consisted of crab and beef taquitos, nachos, quesadillas, and chimichangas. The nachos and quesdillas were pretty good, but I wish I didn’t even try the rest. The taquitos were some of the worst I’ve ever had and the chimichanga was so dry, their guacamole and salsa couldn’t even salvage it.

If I were to go back again, I would definitely stick to their tacos. I think up next would be their filet mignon tacos that Rachel Ray apparently named as best tacos of 2010… Shrug. USC students get 50% off their entrees Monday through Thursday; if I fell in that category, I would definitely come back here more often. But since I don’t, I have to say… I will probably just stick to El Taurino or some places around my area for Mexican grub. They offer better food (overall) at better prices.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

