Insatiable Girl

PASADENA: El Taquito Mexicano Truck

Posted in food, los angeles, recommended, restaurants by sue on January 11, 2011

510 S Fair Oaks Ave
Pasadena, CA 91105

Price: Cheap
Rating: Good
Directions: Get off at Fair Oaks on the 210
Reservations: You have got to be kidding me
Must Get: Al Pastor Tacos

So after I got the tacos from Arturo’s, my cousin told me the better taco truck was the second one down on Fair Oaks which would be this place, El Taquito Mexicano Truck. A few days later, I found myself in the area with Myra so we stopped by to get our fill of tacos. We each ordered three: carne asada, lengua, and a pork one– she got the chicharron and I got the al pastor. Both of us agree that their pork tacos were the best of the three. I had my pork one last because usually the first two are my favorites; after one bite of the al pastor, I was wishing I got pork for all three tacos instead. The other two were just mediocre in comparison. Arturo’s lengua tacos were much better than El Taquito’s and the carne asada lacked flavor. They do the toppings for you here. Their “everything” consists of sauce (your choice of hot or mild), onions, and cilantro. I got mine with just onions and cilantro of course, but the guy definitely did not put enough onions on mine.

Next time I’m craving tacos while in Pasadena, I’ll grab some pork tacos here and head up the street to Arturo’s for the beef tongue.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

