Insatiable Girl

LOS ANGELES: Robata Jinya

Posted in food, los angeles, restaurants by sue on January 20, 2011

www.jinya-la.com
8050 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
323 653 8877

Price: Reasonable
Rating: Good
Directions: Get off at Venice Blvd on the 10
Reservations: I assume you would need them for the weekend.
Must Get: Hakata Tonkotsu Ramen

Overall, this izakaya is pretty good. It’s a cute place with nice decor and good food. Nothing was mind-blowing, but nothing was disappointing either. Albert and I ordered their shrimp toast, agedashi, enoki mushroom and bacon skewers, black cod, LaBrea roll, and hakata tonkotsu ramen. If I were to go back, I would definitely not order the shrimp toast or agedashi again. The shrimp toast was fine, but nothing special. And the agedashi was good, but it only had two pieces of tofu! The shrimp and eggplant it came with lacked flavor. And while the black cod was good, neither Albert nor I thought it was worth the $12. It was just too small.

However, the hakata tonkotsu ramen beat out Ippudo’s for me, especially with its less than $10 price tag (Ippudo’s is usually about $14). I liked the broth and chashu pork, but I don’t understand why they only serve 20 bowls of this particular ramen a day. I would go back just for their ramen, but if they ran out of the hakata tonkotsu one, I’d try their Kyoto spicy ramen next.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

