Insatiable Girl

ROWLAND HEIGHTS: BCD Tofu House

Posted in food, los angeles, restaurants by sue on January 22, 2011

www.bcdtofu.com
1731 Fullerton Road
Rowland Heights, CA 91748
(626) 964-7073

Price: Cheap
Rating: Good/Great
Directions: Get off at Fullerton on the 60
Reservations: Not accepted
Must Get: kimchi soondubu with pork

Hmm maybe it’s because I haven’t had soondubu in a while or because I came in with low expectations (I remember thinking this place was nothing special a few years ago) or because this branch improved, but I actually liked it this past trip. After days (or possibly just a few minutes) of trying to figure out a place for dinner, David and I finally settled upon getting soondubu at BCD. I ordered my usual of kimchi soondubu with pork while David got the kalbi + soondubu combination. We both liked our tofu dishes, but neither of them were spicy enough– I even asked for extra spicy! The kalbi was marinated well, but was rather chewy. The pancha (side dishes) here were good overall, but nothing special. BCD is known for giving a grilled fish per person, but I personally could do without it.

I’d come back again for the tofu since it’s so close to me, but I hear there’s a place across the street near Galleria that makes it even better. Guess I’ll have to try it to find out!

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

